Portrait

Expertise for maximum security of supply

The company:

Amprion GmbH operates a transmission system with the voltage levels of 380.000 and 220.000 volts. The key task of its some 900 employees is to transmit electricity at competitive prices safely and reliably any time.

With a length of around 11.000 kilometres and some 160 substations between Lower Saxony and the border to Switzerland and Austria, our extra-high voltage transmission system is the largest in Germany. The system connects power plants with the load centres and at the same time is an important pillar of the German and European transmission grid. Through its central position in Europe, our transmission system is an important hub for electricity trading between Northern and Southern as well as Eastern and Western Europe.

We are responsible for one of the largest grid areas in Europe and assume an important task in the european interconnected system.

Security of Supply

Stable system and reliable transmission

Amprion monitors the reliable transmission of electricity within the 380/220 kV grid. To keep the grid stable, we make sure that electricity consumption and electricity generation within our control area are balanced at all times. By transparent tendering, as per regulations, we procure the required control power – primary control, secondary control and minute reserve – as well as the energy needed to compensate for grid losses. Tendering for the minute reserve is done jointly with all German transmission system operators.

Coordinator for Northern Europe

We also coordinate the pluralistic load and frequency control for the four German control areas (TenneT TSO GmbH, 50Hertz Transmission GmbH, Trannet BW GmbH and Amprion GmbH). In addition, we are responsible for the coordination of exchange programmes and subsequent system accounting both for the entire German transmission grid and the northern part of the European UCTE interconnected system (Belgium, Bulgaria, Germany, The Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Czech Republic and Hungary).

European electricity transmission

Germany is the No. 1 electricity transit country in Europe. Consequently no other country in the EU has developed its interconnections as effectively as Germany. Interconnection lines to nine foreign transmission system operators in five countries (NL, L, F, CH, A) enable Amprion to meet the specific transmission requirements of European power traders with utmost transmission reliability. In 2005, we extended the Gronau-Hengelo interconnection to the Netherlands, thus doubling its capacity. Interconnection capacities to France had already been increased by one third in 2003. An additional interconnection line is planned to further increase capacities on the Dutch border. We conduct auctions, conforming to EU-regulations, of transmission capacities to France, the Netherlands and Switzerland.

Customer focus

Open grid access

The deregulated electricity market requires open and economically efficient grid access for our customers. We provide customers from industry, distribution utilities, power traders and producers with non-discriminating access to our extra-high voltage system via some 395 grid connections. We offer uniform and competitive prices: Our network usage charges have been calculated in strict compliance with the requirements of Germany's New Energy Industry Act (EnWG) and the German Network Fee Regulation (StromNEV). And we are rising to the challenges posed by the efficiency discussion around the incentive regulation started in 2008.

Market platform

Some 700 balancing agreements concluded with 350 traders for the control area of Amprion prove that competition in our grid area functions well. These traders provide us with up to 3.500 schedule notifications every day which we check in each case.

Concepts

To ease the burdens of high consumption industry, we contribute significantly by introducing highly innovative energy models. In agreement with the Federal Network Agency, we were able to reduce the transmission charges of such customers by up to 50 percent for the period of approval, simultaneously strengthening competitiveness. This concept has meanwhile been adopted by other system operators as a guideline to calculate individual transmission charges.

Our customers’ burdens are steadily increasing due to energy levies imposed by the government. This also affects, directly and indirectly, the transmission charges. One example is the burden sharing for electricity volumes from renewable energy generation and combined heat-and-power production as required by law. We are obliged to take around 38 percent of the total German generation from renewable energy plants into our grid. Despite improved wind forecasts, the supply of wind power to the grid considerably contributes to our costs and increases transmission charges: The balancing power needed for wind power in-feed accounts for almost one fifth of our grid costs. In addition, there are the costs for redispatch and grid development to meet the requirements of the Renewable Energy Act.

Forward-thinking and expertise

Geared up to face new challenges

The structural change of our grid customers requires, in turn, an adjustment of our grid structure in line with the new demanding tasks. This is why we are developing our extra-high voltage grid in a forward-thinking manner with a view to safety engineering, licensing law, ecological and economic aspects. For this purpose, we spend hundreds of millions on investments as well as maintenance and repair annually. The necessary grid budgets are determined by means of asset simulation. The simulation models are based on economically efficient grid development for new grid development projects or grid condition and expected lifetime for replacement projects.

Another example of our sustainable concepts is the improved quality of wind forecasting. As we compare the forecasts of several weather services, our wind forecast has meanwhile become more accurate than the forecast of many a weather report. This enables us to use and procure the balancing power required for wind power feed-in with greater economic efficiency.

Our know-how and long-standing experience form the basis for our cooperation in manifold national and international expert bodies where Amprion frequently takes up a pilot function when it comes to introducing innovation.

Sustainable resource conservation

Environmental protection and nature conservation are essential obligations for Amprion. As part of our energy supply responsibility, we are committed to environmentally sound and resource-conserving provision of energy on a sustainable basis.

Nature conservation and landscape protection

Electricity pylons and conductors of power transmission lines cutting through forests must be protected from falling or growing trees (see figure). By way of biotope management, we look after some 10.500 hectares of land below overhead transmission lines. We are the first power system operator in Germany to team up with the forest and nature conservation authorities to introduce an integral concept that takes into account both economical and ecological concerns.

Pollution control

We also sponsor research on electromagnetic fields (EMC), thus creating the basis for an objective discussion.

back

Portrait

Kompetenz für höchste Versorgungssicherheit

Das Unternehmen

Die Amprion GmbH betreibt ein Übertragungsnetz mit den Spannungsstufen 380.000 und 220.000 Volt. Die zentrale Aufgabe der rund 950 Mitarbeiter ist, jederzeit Strom zu marktgerechten Preisen sicher zu übertragen.

Mit rund 11.000 Kilometern Länge sowie ca. 160 Schalt- und Umspannanlagen zwischen Niedersachsen und der Grenze zur Schweiz und Österreich besitzen wir das längste Höchstspannungsnetz in Deutschland. Es verbindet die Kraftwerke mit den Verbrauchsschwerpunkten und ist gleichzeitig wichtiger Bestandteil des Übertragungsnetzes in Deutschland und in Europa. Durch seine zentrale Lage in Europa ist unser Übertragungsnetz eine wichtige Drehscheibe für den europäischen Stromhandel zwischen Nord und Süd sowie zwischen Ost und West.

Darüber hinaus sind wir verantwortlich für eines der größten Netzgebiete in Europa und übernehmen eine wichtige Aufgabe im europäischen Verbundnetz.

Versorgungssicherheit

Stabiles Netz und sicherer Transport

Amprion überwacht den sicheren Transport von Strom innerhalb des 380-/220-kV-Netzes. Damit in unserer Regelzone ein stabiles Stromnetz gewährleistet ist, stellen wir jederzeit das Gleichgewicht zwischen Stromverbrauch und Stromerzeugung sicher. Die erforderlichen Systemleistungen – Primärregelung, Sekundärregelung und Minutenreserve – beschaffen wir, wie die benötigte Verlustenergie, über transparente und verordnungskonforme Ausschreibungen. Die Regelenergie schreiben wir gemeinsam mit allen deutschen Übertragungsnetzbetreibern auf einer übergreifenden Internetplattform aus.

Koordinator für Nordeuropa

Darüber hinaus koordinieren wir auch die pluralistische Regelung von Leistung und Frequenz für die vier deutschen Regelzonen (50Hertz Transmission GmbH, Transnet BW GmbH, Tennet TSO GmbH und Amprion GmbH). In unseren Händen liegt ebenfalls die Koordination der Austauschprogramme und die anschließende Mengenbilanzierung sowohl für das gesamte Übertragungsnetz in Deutschland als auch für den nördlichen Teil des UCTE-Verbundnetzes (Belgien, Bulgarien, Deutschland, Niederlande, Österreich, Polen, Rumänien, Slowakische Republik, Tschechische Republik und Ungarn).

Europäischer Stromtransport

Deutschland ist beim Stromtransport das Transitland Nummer eins in Europa. Deshalb sind in keinem anderen EU-Land die Kuppelstellen so gut ausgebaut, wie in Deutschland. Mit Kuppelleitungen zu neun ausländischen Übertragungsnetzbetreibern in fünf Ländern (NL, L, F, CH, A) erfüllt Amprion die individuellen Transportwünsche europäischer Stromhändler bei höchster Transportsicherheit. 2005 steigerten wir durch Umbauten die Kapazität der Kuppelstelle Gronau-Hengelo (Niederlande) um das Doppelte. Nach Frankreich wurde bereits 2003 die Leistung um ein Drittel erhöht. Eine zusätzliche Verbundleitung an der niederländischen Grenze soll die Kapazität weiter erhöhen. Für Transporte in die Länder Frankreich, Niederlande und Schweiz führen wir EU-konforme Auktionen der Übertragungsnetzkapazitäten durch.

Kundenorientierung

Offene Netznutzung

Voraussetzung für den liberalisierten Strommarkt ist ein offener und wirtschaftlicher Netzzugang für unsere Kunden. Kunden aus der Industrie, Weiterverteilern, Stromhändlern und Erzeugern stellen wir unser Höchstspannungsnetz über rund 395 Einspeise- und Entnahmestellen diskriminierungsfrei zur Verfügung. Wir bieten einheitliche und marktgerechte Preise: Unsere Netznutzungsentgelte haben wir strikt nach den Vorgaben des neuen Energiewirtschaftsgesetzes (EnWG) und der Netzentgeltverordnung (StromNEV) kalkuliert. Und wir stellen uns der Effizienzdiskussion rund um die 2008 gestartete Anreizregulierung.

Marktplattform Netz

Den funktionierenden Wettbewerb in unserem Netzgebiet belegen auch rund 2100 Bilanzkreise mit etwa 560 Bilanzkreisverantwortlichen für die Regelzone von Amprion. Von ihnen erhalten wir täglich bis zu 3.500 Fahrplananmeldungen, die wir jeweils prüfen.

Konzepte

Durch innovative energiewirtschaftliche Modelle leisten wir einen deutlichen Beitrag zur Entlastung der stromintensiven Industrie. In Abstimmung mit der Bundesnetzagentur konnten die Netzentgelte dieser Kunden innerhalb der Genehmigungszeiträume um bis zu 50 Prozent gesenkt und gleichzeitig die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit gestärkt werden. Inzwischen ist dieses Konzept die Richtschnur für die Berechnung der individuellen Netzentgelte anderer Netzbetreiber.

Die Belastungen unserer Kunden durch staatliche Abgaben auf den Energiepreis steigen immer weiter. Auch die Netzentgelte sind davon direkt und indirekt betroffen – ein Beispiel ist der gesetzlich vorgeschriebene Lastenausgleich für Strommengen aus EEG- und KWK-G-Anlagen. Rund 38 Prozent der gesamten deutschen Erzeugung aus EEG-Anlagen müssen wir in unser Netz aufnehmen. Trotz verbesserter Windprognosen trägt die Windeinspeisung nennenswert zu den Kosten bei und verteuert damit die Netzentgelte: Allein der Anteil des Windausgleichs an den Netzkosten beträgt nahezu ein Fünftel. Hinzu kommen EEG-bedingte Kosten für Redispatch und den Netzausbau.

Zukunftsorientierung und Kompetenz

Vorbereitet auf neue Aufgaben

Mit dem Strukturwandel der Netzkunden muss – entsprechend den veränderten Aufgaben – eine Anpassung der Netzstruktur einhergehen. Wir entwickeln daher unser Höchstspannungsnetz vorausschauend unter sicherheitstechnischen, genehmigungsrechtlichen, ökologischen und wirtschaftlichen Aspekten weiter. Dazu setzen wir gezielt Investitionen, Wartungs- und Instandhaltungsmaßnahmen ein – jedes Jahr in dreistelliger Millionenhöhe. Die erforderlichen Netzbudgets werden mit Hilfe der Asset Simulation ermittelt. Grundlage für die Simulationsmodelle bildet bei Neubauten die wirtschaftliche Netzentwicklung, bei Erneuerungen der Netzzustand und die Nutzungsdauer.

Ein weiteres Beispiel für unsere tragfähigen Konzepte ist die verbesserte Windprognose. Indem wir verschiedene Wetterdienste miteinander abgleichen, ist unsere Windvorhersage mittlerweile genauer als die manch eines Wetterberichtes. Dadurch können wir die für die Aufnahme von Windstrom benötigte Ausgleichsenergie wirtschaftlicher einsetzen und beschaffen.

Unser Know-how und unsere langjährige Erfahrung sind auch Grundlage für die vielfältige Mitarbeit in nationalen und internationalen Fachgremien, wo Amprion häufig die Pilotfunktion bei der Einführung von Neuerungen übernimmt.

Nachhaltige Ressourcenschonung

Die Schonung der Umwelt und die Erhaltung der Natur ist ein wesentliches Handlungsgebot von Amprion. Im Rahmen der energiewirtschaftlichen Verantwortung verfolgen wir das Ziel einer nachhaltig umweltgerechten und ressourcenschonenden Bereitstellung von Energie.

Natur- und Landschaftsschutz

Masten und Seile walddurchquerender Stromleitungen müssen vor umstürzenden oder zu nahe heranwachsenden Bäumen geschützt werden. Rund 10.500 Hektar Land unter den Freileitungen pflegen wir mit unserem Biotopmanagement. Als bundesweit erster Stromnetzbetreiber setzen wir dabei gemeinsam mit Forst- und Naturschutzbehörden auf ein ganzheitliches Konzept, das ökonomische und ökologische Belange gleichermaßen berücksichtigt.

Immissionsschutz

Zudem fördern wir die Forschung über elektromagnetische Felder (EMV) und schaffen damit die Grundlage für eine sachorientierte Diskussion.

zurück